31.10. Congratulations: Arto, Arttu, Artturi | Feedback
Whole Helsinki

Church Calendar St. Matthew's International Lutheran Church, Autumn 2020

20.01.2020, 17:46 /  updated 03.09.2020, 15:47
We are a community of English-speaking Christians, young and old, from many different nations, languages and cultures, church backgrounds and walks of life. We are a family that anyone can freely join. We have a place here for you. Welcome home!

Weekly events:

Sundays 2 pm Communion service

Wednesdays 6 pm Bible Fellowship (from 26 August to 9 December, except on Theme nights, see below)

Thursdays 6 pm International Choir (leader: Gregory Pass, starting 3 September)

Theme nights:

Wednesday, 9 September, 6 pm: Challenges that freedom of religion faces today (Samuel Jayakumar, Coordinator, South Asia Forum for Freedom of Religion or Belief)

Wednesday, 14 October, 6 pm: Modern missions — What has changed and what hasn't? (Tomas Ray, Missions coordinator, Porvoo Diocese)

Wednesday, 4 November, 6 pm: Ask anything about the Bible (Jukka Norvanto, Radio pastor, Finnish Lutheran Overseas Mission)

Wednesday, 2 December, 6 pm: Ecotheology (Yvonne Terlinden, DTh, pastor, Karis–Pojo Lutheran Parish)

Fun together

Saturday, 9 September, 4 pm: BBQ

Saturday, 10 October: Hiking in the woods with Trek guide Yingyi Wu

Saturday, 21 November, 4 pm: Film and popcorn night

Wednesday, 16 December: Trip to Turku Cathedral for Christmas carols and fellowship

Potlucks communion services:

You are welcome to bring some food to the common table

Sunday, 6 September, 2 pm. Theme: Africa

Sunday, 4 October, 2 pm. Theme: Kids

Sunday, 1 November, 2 pm. Theme: Reformation

Sunday, 20 December, 2 pm. Theme: Christmas

Coffee in the square — outreach:

Saturday, 19 September, 12 noon.

Other:

27–29 November: Retreat of silence at Retreat Centre Snoan (Claus Terlinden & Kristian Willis)

28 June – 5 July 2021: English Confirmation Camp (jointly with Roihuvuori Lutheran Parish in Tuusjärvi Kartano, Tuusjärvi. Enquiries and registration, contact pastor Kristian Willis.

(Note! Calendar is subject to changes)‍

Find us!

Turunlinnantie 3, only 2 min walk from the Itäkeskus Metro stop.